I can’t believe I’m doing this on a weeknight.

Deschutes release their Black Butte XXIV the other day to celebrate their 24th anniversary. It’s an amped up version of their Black Butte Porter with figs and dates added.

Looks good don’t it? It is, but could use some time to age. It’s a pretty boozy at the moment.

I have a big bottle share to go to later! I needed to load up on calories!

I arrived to BeerMongers to find this waiting for me. Time to get started!

Full Disclosure: I had to drive home, and we had to finish the tasting in 3 hours. That’s why I have tiny sample sizes

Dogfish Head Positive Contact: Cool label, wish that carried on to the beer though. It just tasted like belgian yeast and cloves. C

Didn’t like this one from Kuhnhenn. C+

Lost Abbey Cuvee de Tomme: Tasty, but in true Lost Abbey tradtion, it’s completely flat. B

Cigar City Cucumber Saison: Smells and tastes really strongly of cucumber. I like cucumber, but I hated this beer. Worst beer of the night by far. D-

Lost Abbey Red Poppy: Carbonated, sour, and god damn delicious. A

Three Floyds Gumballhead: Might be my favorite pale ale next to Zombie Dust. A

Southampton Abbot 12: Meh. B

Hill Farmstead Art: It’s really damn good. One of the best saisons I can think of. A

Cigar City Cognac Barrel Aged Church on a Hill: It’s awesome. God damn awesome barrel character. A+

The bottles! They are growing!!!

Kuhnhenn Fourth Dementia 2008: I love this beer, but this was way too oxidized for me. C+

Three Floyds Alpha King: God these guys can do pale ales well! A-

Surly Five: Always good. A-

Allagash Four: It wasn’t bad, but compared to the other beers it paled a bit. B

Roots Epic 2008 Magnum: Rob and Kevin discovered I was sneaking only small samples of beer. They filled my glass this time. Those assholes. Quite good though, and now I have a huge bottle for homebrew! A-

Cantillon Lou Pepe Kriek 2008: This beer is astonishing. So much cherry and cinnamon. A+

Didn’t drink this one. At this stage I had to be careful with what I drank. There were probably 8 beers that I didn’t even get around to.

Marble Brewing Reserve Ale in Woodford Barrels: Interesting, but not really my thing. B

Block 15 Super Nebula: HOLY CRAP SUPER NEBULA!!!!!!!!! One of my favorite stouts and probably the best beer label I’ve ever come across. A+

Marble Brewing Imperial Stout in Woodford Barrels: This one is much better than the other beer I had. Not sure if the spice from the Woodford helps though. B+

Logsdon Far West Vlaming: I didn’t even know this beer existed, but it was really good. A

Founders Frangelic Mountain Brown: I don’t like browns.

Bourbon County Brand Coffee Stout: Really good, but probably my least favorite of the BCBS variants. B+

Didn’t have this one, just wanted a photo!

Oh Founders KBS: How do you always sneak in to all of these tastings?!

Bruery Fruet: Whoever though opening a 14.5% beer at the end of the day was a good idea, I’m not sure. Damn good beer though. A

Evil Twin Imperial Biscotti Break: Not really my kind of beer, but I could smell this guy all day. B

Goose Island Bourbon County Brand Stout 2009: Sooo good, but this also wasn’t opened until the very end. WTF.

And we all had work the next day….

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 781 other followers

