Zwanze Day…Fuck you.

That’s right, you heard me. Fuck Zwanze day. Instead of standing in line, getting gouged on sample pours, and being a bitter beer geek I went to a bottle share instead. Our Anti-Zwanze day tasting turned out to be amazing.

IMAG1969

“We brought too many bottles”    – Debbie Downer of the tasting group

IMAG1970

Hill Farmstead Anna – Still good, but still too much Brett for me. It is a very good saison though. B

IMAG1971

More bottles appeared…..of course.

IMAG1972

Some peach berlinerweisse. Hooray for low alcohol beer!   B

IMAG1973

Hill Farmstead Juicy: This beer was pretty energetic, as it gushed like a girl who talks to her friends after holding a boy’s hand for the first time. We jokingly mentioned drinking the spills from the bottle with a straw, but after having this beer, I think I may have actually done it. Slightly tart, with huge grapefruit noes, followed by a large dose of Brett funk. This is the best beer I’ve had from Hill Farmstead and now I understand the hype. A+

IMAG1974

Cantillon Jean Chis Nomad: Fuck dude. No one told me we’d be drinking real whales! I was perfectly drinking the instawale beers of the scene right now. Well shit. I was blown away by this, even before I got to try it. I never imagined that I would even get a chance to try this beer. It is very much like Cantillon Classic Gueuze, but on steroids. Enormous funk and sourness, with minimal (but adequate) carbonation. A/A+

IMAG1975

Cantillon Blabaer 2009: Okay, wtf is going on. Can someone please tell me how the fuck I get to try a Jean Chris Nomad to be followed up by a Blabaer?! Basically, one of the guys in our tasting group lived abroad for a long time, and accumulated a lot of these crazy beers during his time in Europe. So today, in protest of Zwanze day, he decided to beat his chest and scream, “FUCK YOU ZWANZE DAY!” and bust out some whales.

27.024000,27.024000

FUCK DUDE!!! Walez!!!!

Anyway, the beer smells like grass, fresh blueberry peel, and funk. Taste is supremely tart, with lots of blueberry flavor, earthiness, lemongrass, and barnyard funk. SOOOO good! I would say that it is worth the hype, but it was definitely the best beer of the day. A+

IMAG1977

Captain Lawrence Rosso E. Marrone: DO NOT WANT. Give this one to the dogs, literally. C-

IMAG1978

Alpine Nelson: Oh thank god something that isn’t sour! My poops still have hope yet! Huge juicy hops, with minimal malts to get in the way. Freshness of this beer is pretty critical. A

IMAG1979

Hill Farmstead Twilight of the Idols: Another fantastic porter from Hill Farmstead. I don’t drink a lot of porters, but my two favorites that aren’t barrel aged both come from Hill Farmstead. Coffee and vanilla are very balanced with this extremely silky porter. A

IMAG1980

Jackie O’s something cherry: It was good, but by this time my palette was basically tired from being assaulted all afternoon by walez.

IMAG1981

BULLFROG SUCKS! ‘Nuff said. Moving on.

IMAG1982

East End Gratitude: Recommendation – do not drink, pour on pancakes instead. Possibly the most beautiful bottle in the world though.

IMAG1983

Block 15: Tropical Storm: Good beer, thank god the papaya has faded, because that god awful fruit should be blasted from existence.

IMAG1984

FINISH THAT BLABAER!!!!!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 781 other followers

