Sister is in Town Pt. 3

Cue the next day after Pt. 2….BeerMongers for a bottle share!

But first..

New Belgium/Alpine Super IPA: Really good, nice and piney with some grapefruit in the background. B+/A-

Upright De La Six: Significantly better now after almost a year of age on it. Nice funk with some flander-esque qualities? A-

Midnight Sun Brewtality: Super good, just like fresh brewed coffee. Better though. A

My contribution to the tasting…but wait!

It grows!

…and grows.

Captain Lawrence IPA: Doesn’t smell so hot, but tastes good. Nice apricot flavors on the finish. B

Deschutes Abyss 2011: Soooo good. I wish I had more of this than my tasting glass so I could taste the changes it undergoes while warming up. A+

Maine Beer Company Zoe: Wow. I have never had a better amber ale in my life. Nugget Nectar isn’t even as good. A-

Midnight Sun Berserker: Really in your face with chocolate, molasses, and maple. While very tasty, I think it could use a few more months of aging. A-

Hill Farmstead Vera Mae: Wow, this beer is really good. I don’t get any dandelion, but I get the honey for sure. There’s also a nice unexpected level of tartness, followed by a little bitterness to round everything out. A

Upright Cuvee Lactovasilios: I have had this beer on draft on several occasions, and the bottle version is better. Nice and tart with some fruitiness. A

Fifty Fifty Eclipse Elijah Craig 12 year: This is the best beer I’ve had from them so far. The barrel character is really nice, unlike the Four Roses version I had a few years back. A-

Captain Lawrence Hops N’ Roses: Just as good as the last time I had it!

Deschutes Jubel 2010: This beer is awesome, one of my favorite barleywines. It trades for much less than it should in my opinion. It’s delicious! A/A+

Oakshire Framboise: Eh, it’s a typical framboise. Nothing overly special in my opinion. B

Cantillon Kriek 100% Lambic Bio: This beer is amazing, one of the best krieks out there! I haven’t had the 100% kriek in a long time. Much tastier than the framboise we had before. A

Pelican Stormwatcher 2009: Really tasty, but it’s been 2 years since I last had one. Can’t really tell you if the age has made it better or worse. B+

Cigar City Guava Grove: Pretty good, but kind of like the cucumber saison, where you can only enjoy it in small doses. B

Great Divide Barrel Aged Old Ruffian: Completely flat. Made me sad…..B-

Hooray for Heady Topper! We needed this as a refresher

Goose Island Bourbon County Stout 2009: Delicious! However, it’s not nothing on Abyss. A-

This is a BEAST of a beer. Super malty and hides it’s vicious 13+% ABV well. But this beer is HUGE. B+

Cascade Figaro: Much better out of the bottle than on tap. Nice carbonation (surprise!) and I think I can taste the figs. It’s really nice and made me go back to pick up another bottle haha. A-/A

Stone 2008 Imperial Russian Stout: This doesn’t taste anything like I remember at all. All the hops are gone, leaving a crazy chocolate bomb. B+

I think we did good on this tasting!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

