It’s been a while…

Since my tasting group got together to share a couple of bottles. Too many other events going on, people traveling, and whatnot. It feels good to get back into the swing of things!

But to start, I had a 10 Barrel Raspberry Crush. God this beer is good. I love this beer more than is good for me. If any girl says that she doesn’t like beer, she needs to try this on for size. A

The lineup! I was most excited for Vlad, Bramble Rye, and Oak Aged Treat!

Three Floyds Zes Zes Zes: This beer is apparently a saison, but since it’s Three Floyds, it’s way to hoppy for that. We all agreed that it was more like an Imperial Belgian IPA. Pretty bitter too. B

A little side-by-side with Midnight Sun’s TREAT and Oak Aged TREAT. I preferred the non aged version over the other beer hands down. The Oak Aged TREAT was slightly infected, got some sour cherry notes when I tried the beer. It wasn’t really bad, and not really unpleasant, but the cherry just didn’t really fit well with the rest of the flavor profile.

Cascade Vlad the Imp Aler 2008: Best bottle of Vlad I’ve ever had. The oak flavors were really nice, and the lemon, tartness, and spice (maybe pepper) fit really well. Nice and mellow. A+

Stillwater Barrel Aged Stateside Saison: This one was a gusher. It was pretty tasty though, but not too much barrel flavor. B

Homebrew chili beer made by someone in our tasting group: This was awesome, nice heat, but not overpowering. I would drink that whole bottle no problem!

Stillwater Requisite: Don’t remember this beer much. Didn’t really stand out to me…

Goose Island Bourbon County Brand Stout 2012: Super boozy and sweet, but still good. Definitely needs a year or so to cool off. B+

Goose Island Bourbon County Brand Stout Bramble Rye: I had this beer fresh, and it was way to fruity for me. The fruit overpowered the rest of the beer, enough so that I didn’t taste much bourbon or chocolate. However, the fruit has had time to fade into the background and provide a nice complement to the regular flavors of BCBS. A

Sidebar: best glass ever hahahahaha. Lightweights should be made to drink out of these!

Goose Island Big John: Good beer, and a nice way to round out our little BCBS lineup! My palette was pretty shot at this point, but I walked it off.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

