Guest Review – Burnside Sweet Heat

I sent my buddy over in dirty jerz some beer to help him recover from Sandy and the jerz in general. He’s much more enthusiastic about beer reviewing than I am, and isn’t the jaded beer asshole that cushy Portland living turned me into.

IMAG2004

I opened my own bottle of Sweet Heat, so this is my photo…

Burnside Brewing Sweet Heat Review: 1pint, 6 fl. Ounce bottle—served in a tulip
A: Hazy orange color, light lacing on the edges and a fat orange head that dissipates quickly into a thin circle in the center of the glass.

S: At first it smells like a wheaty fruity beer, then a nose full of rich spicy pepper is the first sign that something different is going on here. Smell is mostly of the apricot and pepper which it is named for.

T: Apricot right up front, not overpowering, but the clear first flavor. The heat sets in slowly, at first just a little pepper flavor on the tip of my tongue then spreading throughout after I swallow. Another sip and I appreciate the apricot even more. Then comes the pepper, giving me a slight burning on my lips and throat I associate with spicy food.

M: A thin beer, with high carbonation that is necessary to lift the fruit flavors and dull the pepper burn in a well balanced way.

O: Not like anything I have had before. The more I drink of it the more the pepper flavor builds. The beer is almost a paradox of flavors: As my mouth burns, I take another sip. The new sip dulls the burn with the sweet and rich fruit flavor and for a second I forget about the pepper. Then the pepper sets in, deliciously hot after the fruit. This pepper burn then causes me to take another sip to be relieved with the sweet apricot flavor. I have never had a beer that was so well balanced for having such opposing flavors. You definitely have to be in the mood for this beer, and be aware of what you are getting yourself into, but if you like spicy foods, this beer is perfect for you. I personally like spicy food and therefore could drink a lot of this.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

