De Garde Tasting Room Grand Opening

Left around 10AM for Tillamook on Saturday so I could make it early for the opening! Surprisingly, one of the friends that was driving with me wanted to leave even earlier….What a ridiculous concept.

IMAG3567

My precious…..

IMAG3574

This is what you call unreasonably affordable pricing. I’ll take it though!

1276566_10201403269797789_428376029_o

This place is small, seriously small. I like it this way actually.

IMAG3568

Didn’t have my coffee that morning, but a glass of Loak Bean made everything better! Dark fruits, a bit of tartness, followed up by a short of coffee and a kick of vanilla. Highly recommended. A+

IMAG3569

Soliel D’Or: Nelson Sauvin is sooooo good. I loved this beer, probably ranked it #3 after Loak Bean and Blu Bu Weisse. A+

IMAG3570

My friend and his 3L bottle of Soliel D’Or! 1 of 3 bottles!

IMAG3572

I also walked away with a 3L bottle. Loak Bean for me! That’s my glass of Blu Bu Weisse on the right.

After trying the whole taplist, we decided to open some bottles of our own!

IMAG3573

Hill Farmstead Civil Disobedience #6: Really damn good. Grassy, while still retaining some nelson sauvin and juicy aspects from Hill Farmstead Juicy (used as part of the blend). A+

IMAG3575

Drie Fonteinen Doesjel: Surprised at the number of bubbles in this bottle. This bottle is far superior to any I’ve had in the past. Blew my mind! A+

IMAG3576

Oh look, they tapped Cornelio Nunez porter! Tastes like delicious cold pressed coffee. A

IMAG3577

Cantillon Saint Lamvinus 2009: Not as funky or sour as I would expect from a Cantillon this old, but there definitely was some increased funk and tartness. Grapes are holding up really well. I love this beer, it’s my favorite non-whale Cantillon. A+

IMAG3579

Notice how the back of my car is sitting lower than the front……We got noticeably worse gas mileage on the way back home.

IMAG3591

I may have spent a lot of money…..

    • Aaron
    • September 27th, 2013

    Know of anyone who is willing to sell a loak or blu? Heading down to pdx right now.

  1. Nope, but De Garde announced that some bottles will see limited distribution.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

