Pre-De Garde Bottleshare

Yep, we do this because we are crazy.

 

And because some friends flew/drove into town for the release.

 

I showed up late, but there was still plenty to drink!
IMAG1698

Upright Blend Love: This was the newest batch, and was pretty impressive. Less sour than I remember, but more jammy. A-

IMAG1699

Block 15 Petite Verdot: I had no idea that people still had these! The grape juice quality that this beer had is fading, but it is picking up some nice funk in exchange. Still fantastic, but I would have drank this one sooner rather than later. A-

IMAG1700

Upright 5th Anniversary Saison: Not as sour as I was expecting, but there is some nice gin character here. Too bad I can’t taste the apricot that’s supposed to be in this beer. This is kind of like a very light Special Herbs. Good, but could be better. B+/A-

IMAG1701

Upright Barrel Aged Seven: God this beer is delicious, and smells like cheese. Mild tartness with grassy, bretty, cheesiness. A

IMAG1703

Ithaca Brute: I think this is the best beer that Ithaca makes. Beautiful carbonation with a light sourness that finishes bone dry. This is the champagne of beers, not god damn Miller Lite. A-/A

IMAG1704

Ale Apothecary El Cuatro: Okay, so this one is very champagne-like as well….but way overcarbed in my opinion. I think the new batch of El Cuatro is better surprisingly, mainly due to carbonation levels. A-

IMAG1706

Rare Barrel Happy Place: Happy indeed! This beer is good! Reminds me a lot of Common’s Eidolon, which is a great thing. My first Rare Barrel experience….Solid! A-

IMAG1707

De Garde Blu Bu: Yep, still my favorite blueberry sour, excluding that freak show of a beer that was 2009 Blabaer. A+

 IMAG1702

Drie Fonteinen Oude Geuze Vintage St. Valentijn Cuvee: Synthetic cork?! WHAAAAAA? No matter, this beer is still really delicious, with some mushrooms, cheese rind, and traditional Drie Fonteinen funk. Definitely lighter in carbonation than I’m used to, but that’s okay. Excellent example of a Geuze. A+

Then I went home.

IMAG1709

Drank this fucker as well. Still the best Upright beer ever made!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment