When making fun of North Korea, drink beer.

I’ve been wanting to watch the Interview for a while now, and thanks to North Korea, I can watch it from the comfort of my own home. Seeing this movie makes me want to revisit Team America: World Police because movies that make fun of North Korea are way more entertaining than they should be.

IMAG3059

Pelican Mother of all Storms: Really delicious this year, seems to get more vanilla each time I try a bottle. I also noticed that the bottle now says that the beer is bottled in Tillamook instead of Pacific City, so I wonder if the original location is still brewing beer. Also, sweet reflection of my buddy’s bottle opener on the beer glass was not intentional, but awesome.

IMAG3061

De Garde Corbeau Noir: Dark sours are really hard to pull off, and I think that as a style, it’s dumb. That being said, this beer is pretty good for a dark sour. More tart than the Origins Grand Cru I had the other day, but there is still enough malt to make this not taste like a vinegar bomb.

IMAG3063

Upright Undercurrent: It’s been a very long time since I opened up some of my Sole Composition bottles, and I wanted to fix that. Undercurrent is a strong saison with currants(?) added, or something to that effect. It’s a nice, clean saison with some jammy flavors. Upright doesn’t really do anything that plays to the ends of the flavor spectrum, so everything is in moderation, but executed perfectly. A

IMAG3064

Upland Malefactor: AN UPLAND BEER THAT DIDN’T TEAR MY FACE OFF!

IMAG3065

De Garde Imperial Chery Blu Bu: This is a tasty beer, but not quite on the same level as Cherry Raz Bu. That being said, we thought that this beer could use a little more time in the bottle to allow the flavors to integrate and mellow out a little more. B+/A-

IMAG3066

Upright Wedding Beer: This beer is Upright at it’s best, bright, citrusy, with a little bit of gin aromatics. I would put this in my top 10 saisons without a second thought. A+

    • Daniel Sacilotto
    • January 15th, 2015

    Have you tried De Molen / Anchorage – Mud and Funk? It’s my favorite sour stout ever, which is not saying much since most of them suck. But this one is spectacular, aged in cab sauv barrels. Very rich, sweet, oaky, without competing with the tanins, a bit boozy. It’s really delicious.

  1. Thanks for the tip! I usually avoid sour stouts like the plague, but I’ll give that one a shot if I ever see one.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

