Geuze and Oysters, V3.0

Looks like we do this big, ridiculous tasting once a year. A bunch of bearded guys run into a basement, shuck a ton of oysters, and drink really fancy beer. Yeah, sounds like a terrible way to pass as Saturday to me too. But……someone has to do it.

I volunteered.

IMAG1313

New Belgium Prickly Pear: WTF is this?! I was expecting a light sour, and I get a stout instead. I’m going to get my pitchfork and burn this sum’bitch to the ground.

IMAG1314

Upright Fatali Four: Ahhhhhhh, this spicy, funky, and tart beer was exactly what I was looking for. Anger gone.

Okie dokie, now that I’ve gone and stretched my hammies, let’s get this party started.

IMAG1315

Hello there, delicious rocks.

IMAG1316

Torkes, really nice and briny. Please excuse my shitty shucking job.

IMAG1317

Also buttery Kumamotos, but these also had a nice briny kick to them too, probably the best kumos I’ve had.

IMAG1319

HORAL’s Oude Geuze Mega Blend 2009-2015: Oh dear, I guess we might as well start with a complete vertical of Mega Blend. These beers got better with age, with 2009 being the clear winner, and 2015 as the loser, with 2013 and 2011 somewhere in the middle. 2013 had a nice citrus note to it, while 2011 was a little less carbonated and muted, but more complex. Then you have 2009 dropping notes of perfection everywhere, with that mushroomy funk that you can only find with old sour beers.

IMAG1320

Mmmm

IMAG1321

and of course, when you have lots of bottles opened, you have to make a coovie….FOR SCIENCE. Seriously though, this coovie was better than any of the other beers by itself. A+ for science.

IMAG1322

Drie Fonteinen Framboos: If only this beer had some god damn bubbles. Honestly, I thought this beer was too fruity, with not enough lambic qualities. The previous batch of Framboos was very much the same, but that beer became a delicious funky monster during its later years. I hope this beer goes in the same direction. B+

IMAG1323

Okay, play time is over. Time to hit the big leagues.

IMAG1325

Drie Fonteinen Armand ‘4 Lente, Zomer, Herfst, Winter: My personal ranking was Lente, Winter, Zomer, and Herfst. Normally I would rank Winter last and Herfst second, but this bottle of Winter was absolutely out of this world, with a much fuller mouthfeel than the other beers of the set. On the other hand, Herfst’s cork had slipped, so it had partially oxidized and had zero carbonation. That being said, that bottle of Herfst would have still dominated most tastings, but it just took a back seat this time. Lente was softer than the other Seasons, but it had a great lingering finish, and had was refreshing despite being a thoroughly funky beer. God, I wish I could do this all the time. This is how I would die, drinking these.

IMAG1326

Of course, a coovie of these beers as well. Really, really good, but I wouldn’t say it was better than they beers by themselves. No synergies here.

IMAG1328

Uhhhhhh, yeah. That happened. Armand & Tommy was good, but not up to the level of the Seasons. Sorry BeerAdvocate beer traders inflating the value of this beer.

IMAG1329

Hill Farmstead Society and Solitude #5: I forgot what hops tasted like!

IMAG1330

That is a sexy photo. Batch 1 and 2 of Cantillon’s 50N4E

IMAG1331

Cantillon 50N4E batch 1 and 2: So, batch 1 is one of the best things I’ve ever put into my mouth, while batch 2 is merely fantastic. The main thing about these beers is that they are all about the finish. Most lambic goes the funky bitter route, while these dive right into the cognac savory territory. It’s like they start out as a nice lambic, and then change their minds and decide that they want to be a spirit. I’m really happy I got a chance to try batch 1, as I seriously doubt I’ll ever try that beer again, or even see another bottle.

IMAG1335

Drie Fonteinen Oude Geuze Golden Blend: Sorry folks, people who say that this is another Armand & Tommy, it’s not. Go back onto Reddit and complain about rent prices or something.

IMAG1336

Cantillon Lou Pepe Gueuze 2008 (2011 cork): This beer is in a terrible situation, as it would have crushed any tasting except this one. Here, it is merely tasty, and not approaching god-like just yet. On the bright side, this beer shows lots of potential, and can probably age another 10 years and be fine.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

